To be eligible to register to vote in California, you must be:
To check the status of your voter registration, visit voterstatus.sos.ca.gov.
No Problem! A new law allows you to register to vote and vote until 8:00 p.m. on Election Day at your county elections office or at any vote center or polling place in your county. This process is called Conditional Voter Registration (CVR) and is commonly referred to as Same Day Voter Registration.
Here's how it works:
Check out your county Voter Information Guide for information about local candidates and measures. You may also go to propositions for more information.
California's voluntary campaign spending limits do not apply to candidates for federal offices including President, U.S. Senate, and the U.S. House of Representatives. All U.S. House of Representatives candidates may buy space for a candidate statement in county Voter Information Guides. Some candidates, however, choose not to buy space for a statement.
State Senate and Assembly candidates may buy space for a candidate statement in the county Voter Information Guides if they agree to keep their campaign spending under a certain dollar amount. State Senate candidates may spend no more than $930,000 in the primary election. State Assembly candidates may spend no more than $620,000 in the primary election.
To fnd the statements from Presidential candidates, visit the Secretary of State's website at vote.ca.gov.
To research campaign contributions for state and local candidates, visit the Secretary of State's website at powersearch.sos.ca.gov.
To research campaign contributions for Presidential and Congressional candidates, visit the Federal Election Commission website at www.fec.gov.
On the Secretary of State's website you can also:
Every county has polling places or vote centers open on Election Day. Many counties also have in-person, early voting locations. To find out the options in your county, visit vote.ca.gov or check your county Voter Information Guide.
You may also call the Secretary of State's toll-free Voter Hotline at (800) 345-VOTE (8683).
You can also text Vote to GOVOTE (468683) to find the location of your polling place.
If you live in Amador, Butte, Calaveras, El Dorado, Fresno, Los Angeles, Madera, Mariposa, Napa, Nevada, Orange, Sacramento, San Mateo, Santa Clara, or Tuolumne County, you can vote in any vote center in your county. Visit voterschoice.sos.ca.gov or Voter's Choice Act for more information.
Any registered voter can vote by mail. You must request a vote-by-mail ballot from your county elections office at least 7 days before the election. Please see County Election Offices for your county's contact information. You can also register as a permanent vote-by-mail voter, and a ballot will automatically be mailed to you prior to each election.
If you live in Amador, Butte, Calaveras, El Dorado, Fresno, Madera, Mariposa, Napa, Nevada, Orange, Sacramento, San Mateo, Santa Clara, or Tuolumne County, a vote-by-mail ballot will automatically be mailed to you. Visit voterschoice.sos.ca.gov or Voter's Choice Act for more information.
No stamp, no problem! Postage for vote-by-mail envelopes is pre-paid by the county and free for all voters in California.
After marking your choices on your vote-by-mail ballot, place it in the official envelope provided by your county elections office and seal it. Sign the envelope where directed. You have multiple options for returning your ballot.
To ensure your ballot arrives by the deadline, return it either:
Even if you signed up to vote by mail, you can still vote in person at your polling place on Election Day. Bring your vote-by-mail ballot to the polling place and give it to a poll worker to exchange for a polling place ballot. If you do not have your vote-by-mail ballot and envelope, you may have to vote using a provisional ballot. This ensures that you have not already cast a ballot. (See Provisional Voting for more information about provisional ballots.)
All county elections officials are required to offer an accessible option called remote accessible vote-by-mail (RAVBM). RAVBM allows voters with disabilities to receive their ballots at home and mark them independently and privately before sending them back to elections officials. Contact your county elections official to see if this option is offered in your county.
Check if your ballot was counted by visiting voterstatus.sos.ca.gov. County elections offices have up until 60 days after Election Day to provide this information.
Some county elections offices have signed up for the Secretary of State's new program to track your vote-by-mail ballot. Visit vote.ca.gov to learn about tracking your ballot.
All employees are eligible for paid time off for the purpose of voting if they do not have enough time outside of working hours to vote.
Employees can be given as much time as they need in order to vote, but only a maximum of two hours is paid. Employers may require employees to give advance notice that they will need additional time off for voting. Employers may require time off to be taken only at the beginning or end of the employee's shift.
If you have questions, call the Secretary of State's toll-free Voter Hotline at (800) 345-VOTE (8683).
In most cases, California voters do not have to show identification before they vote.
You may have to show one form of identification at the polling place if you are voting for the first time after registering by mail or online and you did NOT provide the following on your application:
Following are some of the acceptable types of identification according to state and federal laws:
For the full list, see “Polling Place ID Requirements” at sos.ca.gov/elections/hava-id-standards.
Participate as a Poll Worker! Gain hands-on experience and take part in the single most important part of our democracy—voting!
To serve as a poll worker, you must be:
To serve as a high school poll worker, a student must: